120 Years in the Making

"one of the most historically-significant organizations in Southern California.”

1901 - South Coast Yacht Club is formed by avid sailors and power boaters from the Los Angeles area. SCYC would later merge with Los Angeles Motor Boat Club and change its combined name to Los Angeles Yacht Club.

1903 - The first official yacht race in Southern California is run between Brighton Beach to Point Fermin. This was almost ten years before the completion of the San Pedro Breakwater.

1906 - SCYC stages the first running of the Transpacific Race, known today as Transpac.

1906 - South Coast Yacht Club is relocated to what is now 22nd Street Park.

1936 - Los Angeles Yacht Club and California Yacht Club shared a clubhouse until LAYC moved into its New England-style clubhouse on Terminal Island's Fish Harbor.

1993 - Given the rise of commercial traffic, the Club's Fish Harbor location became undesirable. Los Angeles Yacht Club was relocated to Cabrillo Marina in San Pedro.


Secondary address